HomeHomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Ethan Hawke: Hollywood is 'a boys' club'

View previous topic View next topic Go down 

Ethan Hawke: Hollywood is 'a boys' club' Empty
PostSubject: Ethan Hawke: Hollywood is 'a boys' club'   Ethan Hawke: Hollywood is 'a boys' club' EmptyThu May 14, 2015 12:00 pm

The 44-year-old actor has blasted Hollywood for its gender inequality, revealing that filming Rebecca Miller's 'Maggie's Plan' was the first time he had ever been directed by a woman, despite being in the industry for 30 years.

Ethan said: ''The movie business is such a boys' club. I have been making movies for 30 years. I've done probably more than 40 movies, and this year is the first time I've been directed by a woman.''

The actor also responded to the Oscars speech made by his 'Boyhood' co-star Patricia Arquette, which called for equal opportunities for women in the US.

Ethan told 'Larry King Now': ''Patricia is a brass tacks, old-school feminist and I have so much respect for her. I think it's about time. She's right.''

The 'Sinister' star added that having three daughters - Maya, 17, Clementine, seven, and four-year-old Indiana - has turned him into a feminist.

He said: ''People think this gender equality thing has happened, but it's fascinating having three daughters and seeing the world through their eyes. It really does turn you into a feminist.''
Back to top Go down
Batman
I am Batman
I am Batman
Batman

PostSubject: Re: Ethan Hawke: Hollywood is 'a boys' club'   Ethan Hawke: Hollywood is 'a boys' club' EmptyThu May 14, 2015 12:06 pm

I agree more films need to be directed by women, but not simply because they're women, it should be because they're qualified.

For example, Selma was a great film and it was directed by a woman. You need women who are qualified. But you also need women who are interested.
Back to top Go down
Chilly
TeamSexy
TeamSexy
Chilly